Beef Stew and Homemade Bread


IMG_1786

So here is how I think this is going to work. I’m going to post all the recipe instructions needed to recreate the dishes I made individually, followed by an amalgamated list/system in case you want to be a complete copycat and make the exact same meal, and time/order it right. If you don’t know me personally I have very mild OCD, which in terms of my working in the kitchen manifests in such a way that I schedule and time EVERYTHING, so that hypothetically, all the dishes I cook are ready at the same time. Unfortunately for my friends and family, this OCD does not motivate me to clean compulsively after I cook.

I will also reference the original recipe where I got this idea from, because I am not a chef and rarely make up my own recipes. Also I don’t want to get in some sort of plagiarism scandal, because obviously Martha Stewart will one day be reading my blog and be like “Well golly gee, that is my recipe right there, but she used penne instead of strozzapreti… CALL MY LAWYERS!”

MS

On to today! Over the last week or so the weather here has looked to me a little something like this;

Battle_of_Hoth

(*representation)

With weather like this, what’s more perfect than a nice bowl of stew with freshly baked bread? Answer; nothing.  You won’t believe it. Not only did my first recipe turn out delicious but I made a **gasp** vegan bread. How could this happen? It was so simple, and yet fundamentally lacking in the animal and animal by-products I so love. Oh well. At least the stew made up for it. Some notes;

IMG_1753

Yes, when you combine the ingredients for the bread it will look lumpy and weird like this and still work.


IMG_1772

See told you so.

IMG_1779

For real. Damn look at that bread.

IMG_1764

The vegetables you are using in this way together are called a mirepoix! Look at me, I know fancy chef terms…just kidding I just watch Diners Drive ins and Dives.

BEEF STEW

Ingredients

3 tablespoons olive oil
1 pounds stew meat, in 1 1/2-inch chunks
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
2 large sweet onions
2 carrots
2 celery stalks
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1/2 cup red wine
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
4 cups beef stock
1/2 tsp dried rosemary
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp dried sage
1/4 tsp cinnamon
Orange zest
1 tablespoons fresh parsley

Directions

1. Make your beef stock, however you do that. I use powder because I have a day job and I really don’t have the time to make my own stock.
2. Finely chop the onion, carrot and celery.
3. Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium-high heat and cook vegetables until translucent
4. Season the beef well with salt and pepper. Add to pot and sear on all sides, about 5 – 6 minutes.
5. Add the tomato paste and cook 1 minute more.
6. Add the wine and vinegar and reduce them slightly.
7. Add the stock, salt and pepper to taste, and the rosemary, thyme, sage and cinnamon. Bring everything to a boil, and then simmer gently, partially covered, for an hour and a half.
8. You now have a long time to chop parsley.
9. Ladle out bowls of stew. Drizzle with olive oil, then top with freshly grated orange zest and chopped parsley. DO NOT skip the orange zest. It adds an awesome flavour to this dish. Bonus, you get to eat an orange for dessert.

Original – http://rikishore.com/2012/01/kitchen-thrift-hearty-beef-stew/

HOMEMADE BREAD

Ingredients

3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 3/4 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon yeast
1 1/2 cups water

Directions

1. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour, salt and yeast.
2. Add water and mix until combined. Don’t use a whisk, even though you thought about it because you have one in your hand from step 1. It doesn’t work.
3. Cover bowl with plastic wrap and set aside for 12 – 18 hours.  Overnight works great.
4. Heat oven to 450 degrees.
5. When the oven has reached 450 degrees place a round baking dish with a lid in the oven and heat for 30 minutes
6. Meanwhile, pour dough onto a heavily floured surface and shape into a ball.  Cover with plastic wrap and let set while the pot is heating.
7. Remove hot pot from the oven and drop in the dough.  Cover and return to oven for 30 minutes.
8. After 30 minutes remove the lid and bake an additional 15 minutes.
9. Remove bread from oven and place on a cooling rack.

Original – http://www.simplysogood.com/2010/03/crusty-bread.html

TOGETHER

Directions

(The numbers refer to the steps in the recipes above)

Bread 1-3
Sleep
Bread 4
Stew 1-7
During stew’s step 7, start bread steps 5-9
Stew 8-9

Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Beef Stew and Homemade Bread

Leave a Reply

