Chicken Spiedies

photo 3 (32)

Chapter 18 – In which Kosher By Default makes many errors and learns many subsequent lessons.

truth

I agree completely,  so that’s what we’ll do.

I know what you’re thinking, “Only 1 recipe this week? I feel cheated and wronged!” Well, let me explain; I originally tried out a potato recipe for this side dish which looked delicious but turned out to be awful. Not only was it awful but I burnt my hand on the pan trying to cook these potatoes which made me hate this recipe even more. Needless to say it was cut from this post. At least we have a delicious sandwich to make up for it.

When I originally found this recipe and saw this sandwich was called a spiedie I of course naturally imagined something like this

I may or may not have sang this song the whole time I was cooking

Alas, Spiderman has nothing to do with this sandwich.

I proceeded to make this sandwich and sing variations of the Spiderman theme song without putting much thought into it. When I was done however and did some research and found out that a spiedie is an actual specific sandwich! Once I re-emerged from my shame spiral from not knowing everything about the world of sandwiches, I reviewed what I did and found some flaws in my technique (which in turn link up to this week’s notes);

photo 1 (34)

For my chicken, I let it marinade about 5 hours or so. I figured it would be sufficient. HOWEVER it turns out real spiedies are marinated overnight and, in many cases for multiple days! This is apparently one of the specific characteristics of this sandwich according to my best friend Wikipedia. Strike 1 for me. I feel as though I have compromised this sandwich’s integrity. One thing to note, however, is that it is totally ok if your chicken turns white in the marinade (as above). It is supposed to look like that, I won’t go into the science behind it because I’m sure there will be another recipe in my future where this happens and I won’t know what to write about besides that.

photo 2 (30)

When I was cooking the chicken pieces I kind of just threw them all on the BBQ in a random chaotic way (as shown above). Then of course, post-research, I found out that I yet again missed a fundamental point of this sandwich. Traditionally these are prepared as kabobs, (makes sense with cubing the meat and all), and the entire point of the sandwich was that the bread was like an edible oven mitt used to remove the chicken from the skewer. OHHHHHHH gotcha. Strike 2 for me; at this point I was hesitant even calling this a spiedie, but I guess the flavours are similar so I’m going to stick with it. Also this sandwich is still delicious, despite my errors. I would definitely make this again!

CHICKEN SPIEDIES

Ingredients

2 rolls (I used Ciabatta, but again, I did my background research after I cooked, and found that traditionally you are supposed to use soft Italian bread. Strike 3, I am a sandwich failure and have learned my lesson; research first).
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts
3 tbsp lemon juice (approximately the juice of 1 lemon)
¼ cup white wine vinegar
¾ cup extra virgin olive oil
4 bay leaves, finely crumbled or chopped
4 large garlic cloves, minced
1 ½ tablespoons dried Italian seasoning
2 teaspoons salt
½ teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions

1. Cut chicken into 1 1/2-inch cubes.
2. Put lemon juice and vinegar in medium bowl. Whisk in oil in a slow steady stream. When fully incorporated, whisk in bay leaves, garlic, Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper.
3. Measure out 1/3 cup of this marinade and reserve in a sealed container in the refrigerator. Pour remaining marinade into 1-gallon freezer-weight Ziplock bag.
4. Add chicken to the Ziplock bag, press out the air, seal, and refrigerate for 5 hours.
5. Remove chicken and container of reserved marinade from cooler 20 minutes before serving. Heat grill to medium-high.
6. Brush grill with oil. Grill chicken pieces directly on the grill until browned in spots and no longer pink in the center, 8 to 10 minutes, turning often and drizzling with the reserved marinade from the container during first 5 to 7 minutes.
7. Meanwhile, slice rolls in half and toast bread pieces on the grill
8. Put the chicken on the bread, and top with remaining reserved marinade.

2 thoughts on “Chicken Spiedies

  1. I am always entertained reading your blog and amused by your descriptions. There is always room for improvements and am sure the sandwich was still delicious!!!

  2. After a long absence, I have returned to the blogosphere. This week’s offering is much inferior to the lesser known and oft misunderstood “batwich”. This is a tastier form of hero sandwich gleaned from my utility belt of recipes. Riddle me this, Kosher by default, Why is a batwich superior to a spidie? Stay tuned to next weeks reply…same bat time…same bat channel…you will Marvel at the answer.

Leave a Reply

